Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

The Winery Dogs – The Winery Dogs [2013]

The Winery Dogs have made a really killer debut album that combines their awesome musical virtuosity with some intense rock grooves and powerful vocals. The band is a rock super group featuring guitar extraordinaire Richie Kotzen (solo and ex Mr Big), rock bass legend Billy Sheehan (Mr Big, Steve Vai), and power house drummer Mike Portnoy (ex Dream Theater).

This project originally planned to have the immense talents of guitar player John Sykes but after that idea fell through this current lineup was settled on and they hit the studio to get the job done. The sound of the album is very much in a classic rock vein with lots of excellent solos and strong vocals from Kotzen who gives a Chris Cornell-like performance in both tone and style on these awesome tracks. The album sounds huge and is engineered well like most projects that Mike Portnoy is involved with. Highlights include the hard rocking opener “Elevate”, the brilliant groove of “We Are One” that cracks into a massive chorus hook, the melodic ballad “You Saved Me”, and the strong bonus track “Criminal” available on the Japanese import version.

The Winery Dogs consistently show their amazing ability to shred while writing lots of big riffs and memorable choruses that rival the best in this style of music. This is definitely one of the strongest albums of the year and hopefully leads to an exciting tour. The Winery Dogs are highly recommended to fans of quality rock in the style of Mr Big and might also impress fans of bands such as Led Zeppelin, Cream, Lenny Kravitz, and Soundgarden.

Band Members
Billy Sheehan – Bass, Vocals
Mike Portnoy – Drums, Percussion, Vocals
Richie Kotzen – Lead Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards, Percussion

01. Elevate
02. Desire
03. We Are One
04. I’m No Angel
05. The Other Side
06. You Saved Me
07. Not Hopeless
08. One More Time
09. Damaged
10. Six Feet Deeper
11. Time Machine
11. Criminal [Japan Release]
12. The Dying
13. Regret

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
The Winery Dogs - The Winery Dogs [2013], 9.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: