Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

W.E.T. – Earthrage [2018]

“Earthrage” is the brand new album of Swedish melodic rock band W.E.T. continue the amazing momentum of the past few years and release yet another superb album, which is simply overflowing with memorable fist pumping anthems. Produced by Erik Martensson, “Earthrage” sounds huge and is mixed clearly with great performances from all band members which is all then raised to the stratosphere with awesome hook filled vocals and a tons of killer guitar solos.

The band line-up features iconic singer Jeff Scott Soto (Talisman, Journey, Yngwie J. Malmsteen), lead guitarist Eric Martensson (Eclipse, Ammunition, Nordic Union) and keyboardist Robert Sall (Work of Art) among with guitarist Magnus Henriksson (Eclipse) and drummer Robban Back. W.E.T. play a brand of ultra-slick melodic rock made popular in the 80s. These guys do, however, add a modern flavor to the mix to keep it from becoming stale and uninspired.

The songs on the record did take a little time to grow on me to be honest, as I was expecting something a little more hard rocking I guess. The songs are all well-crafted and written, but the real highlight for me is the vocals of Jeff Scott Soto. The guitar riffs and solos by Eric Martnesson and Magnus Henriksson also deserve special mention as they create an excellent layered sound that brings each song to life. While the majority of the songs are terrific, a couple really caught my eye. I really enjoyed the cracking opener “Watch the Fire” which really lets you know what you’re going to be in for here, the massive rock vibe of “Kings on Thunder Road”, the epic and moody power ballad “Elegantly Wasted”, the bombastic hard rock of “Dangerous” and the epic album closer “The Never Ending Retraceable Dream” are all winners.

Despite the fact that the second half of the album becomes a little generic in sound and style, the overall vibe of the album still remains strong and enjoyable. “Earthrage” is a high quality melodic rock album that is recommended to all fans of this style of music and will certainly rank as one of the best melodic rock albums this year.

Band Members
Erik Mårtensson – Guitar, bass, keyboards, vocals
Jeff Scott Soto – Vocals
Robert Säll – Keyboards
Magnus Henriksson – Guitar
Robban Bäck – Drums
Thomas Larsson – Additional guitar solo on “Urgent”

01. Watch The Fire
02. Burn
03. Kings On Thunder Road
04. Elegantly Wasted
05. Urgent
06. Dangerous
07. Calling Out Your Name
08. Heart Is On The Line
09. I Don’t Wanna Play That Game
10. The Burning Pain Of Love
11. The Neverending Retraceable Dream

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (4 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
W.E.T. - Earthrage [2018], 10.0 out of 10 based on 4 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: