Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email: [email protected]

Voodoo Circle – Raised on Rock [2018]

“Raised on Rock” is the fifth brand new album by German hard/heavy rock band Voodoo Circle. The vision behind the band’s formation is to deliver 70’s oriented hard/heavy rock with a rather vintage twist. The line up is built around guitar prodigy Alex Beyrodt (Sinner, Primal Fear), long-time band mate bassist Mat Sinner (Sinner, Primal Fear), drummer Francesco “Cesco” Jovino (Edge of Forever, Hardline, Sunstorm) and Herbie Langhans as the group’s new frontman (Avantasia). Another musician contributed significantly to the tight overall impression of “Raised On Rock”, the keyboards were manned by Corvin Bahn (Saxon, Uli Jon Roth).

“Raised on Rock” draws heavily upon mid/late 70s hard rock, integrating early-“Whitesnake”-like riffs, “Rainbow”-like melodies while the ballads have a very “Deep Purple” feel to them. All members contribute to the unique sound of Voodoo Circle yet Alex and Herbie could be considered to stand out. Beyrodt’s ability is perfectly uncovered on “Raised on Rock” where he puts forward a Blackmore/Bolin guitar style, without excluding his characteristic shredding solos.

Guitarist and main composer Alex Beyrodt crafts songs in such a way that all four members shine on each and every song on the album, though perhaps the most lasting effect is delivered by Langhans’ stellar vocal performance. As the band has established a unique style and sound that combines vintage and contemporary there is not much reason to talk about favorite songs on “Raised on Rock” as every track on the album is an experience on its own. Regarding its sonic qualities, while the recording and production of the album delivers the vintage rock vibe, the mixing and mastering by Jacob Hansen (Volbeat, U.D.O.), whose unerring instinct for dynamics and frequencies lends the recording its modern touch. So both the song-writing and production serve the artistic vision of “Voodoo Circle” in delivering back-to-the-roots hard rock.

Through this new album it becomes clear that “Voodoo Circle” is a hard rock band with a rather unique style and sound clearly differentiating themselves from other leading bands. A great buy for any fan of old school hard rock particularly for fans of classic groups like Rainbow, Whitesnake and Deep Purple.

Band Members
Alex Beyrodt – Guitars
Francesco Jovino – Drums
Herbie Langhans – Vocals
Mat Sinner – Bass

01. Running Away From Love
02. Higher Love
03. Walk On The Line
04. You Promised Me Heaven
05. Just Take My Heart
06. Where Is The World We Love
07. Ultimate Sin
08. Chase Me Away
09. Unknown Stranger
10. Dreamchaser
11. Love Is An Ocean
12. Time For The Innocent (Bonustrack)
13. There’s More To See (Bonustrack)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (3 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Voodoo Circle - Raised on Rock [2018], 10.0 out of 10 based on 3 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: