Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Viana – Viana [2017]

This is the self-titled debut album by Italian band Viana fronted by guitarist Stefano Viana. Stefano Viana takes up the guitar at age of 16, when the glorious 80s Hard Rock was at its highest splendor. Influenced by artists just like Whitesnake, Bon Jovi, Def Leppard, Ozzy Osbourne and Y&T, Stefano started recording his first songs in 1996, fascinated by recordings’ process techniques. He self-produced two unreleased Cds and, during the works on the second one, he met Alessandro Del Vecchio, asking him to get inolved in the production of his first official solo album.

His debut album features several session players among the most esteemed on aor/melodic rock scene: Alessandro Del Vecchio on vocals, Francesco Marras on guitar, Anna Portalupi on bass and Alessandro Mori on drums (well-known for their collaboration with artists such as Hardline, Tarja, Ted Poley and John Macaluso), Gabriele Gozzi (Rhyme, Skill In Veins, Killer Klown) on backing vocals and Pasquale India on keyboards. The eponymous debut album produced by Stefano Viana and co-produced by Alessandro Del Vecchio.

Any way you look at it “Viana” is melodic hard rock without compromise. The leading instrument -aside of the vocals- is the guitar which brings to front thick-yet harmonious-riffs, incredible melodic lines and blistering solos effectively stealing the show on most songs on “Viana”. From the opening track “Straight Between Our Hearts” it becomes clear that “Viana” has every bit the potential of developing into such a melodic hard rock highlight as the members’ previous works. The second track “Bad Signs” proves itself quite the potential radio hit demonstrating melody and attack on equal amounts. The album also benefits from a rather thick production that does not undermine the melodic rock quality of “Viana” while effectively bringing to front the guitar attack and the harmonious keyboards which makes the end result all the more exciting.

Overall “Viana” should prove a great buy for anyone enjoying the heavier side of melodic rock and any fan of 80s hard rock overall, delivering a fair amount of standout songs. The album will be released worldwide by Street Symphonies Records on March 24th, 2017, in Japan, the release is scheduled in April under AnderStein Music.

Band Members
Stefano Viana – Guitars

Special Guests
Alessandro Del Vecchio – Vocals
Francesco Marras – Guitars
Anna Portalupi – Bass
Alessandro Mori – Drums
Gabriele Gozzi – Backing vocals
Pasquale India – Keyboards

01. Straight Between Our Hearts
02. Bad Signs
03. Feel Your Love Tonight
04. Night Of Fire
05. Follow The Dawn
06. A New Love
07. Living A Lie
08. Just To Sing
09. Open Road
10. That Place Is You

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 10.0/10 (4 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Viana - Viana [2017], 10.0 out of 10 based on 4 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: