Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Toto – XIV [2015]

Toto return nearly a decade after releasing their killer album Falling In Between with this strong new album that showcases their stellar musicianship along with their ability to create very high quality songs featuring that instantly recognizable Toto groove. Lineup changes have been a regular thing for Toto over the years and for this album we get the return of staple members such as Steve Lukather, David Paich, and Steve Porcaro along with the full time return of Joseph Williams on vocals, David Hungate on bass, and new drummer Keith Carlock who replaced the legendary drum stool of Simon Phillips.

Produced by Toto and long time friend C J Vanston, Toto XIV is an album rich in textured sounds and interesting musical passages topped with great vocal performances from all band members. Highlights include the brilliant guitar riff and huge chorus of opening track “Running Out Of Time”, the classic backing vocals and awesome guitar solo of “Holy War”, the Lukather-lead existential vibe of “21st Century Blues”, the awesome instrumental performances throughout “Chinatown”, the beautiful dream-like ballad “All The Tears That Shine” featuring David Paich on lead vocals, and the bombastic musical uniqueness of “Great Expectations” which just screams Toto!

The Japanese edition contains the Steve Porcaro penned track “Bend” which is another interesting and emotional ballad that rounds out a great album. Toto XIV is a very classic sounding Toto album that continues the legacy of one of the greatest bands of all time and despite the lack of progressiveness, brought about most likely by the change of drummers, it is a very strong album that is highly recommended to fans of this legendary band particularly those who favour the sound of Toto’s earlier albums.

Band Members
David Hungate – Bass
David Paich – Keys, Piano, Organ, Backing Vocals, Lead Vocals # 8-9, 11
Joseph Williams – Lead Vocals # 1-3, 5, 8, 10-11 Backing Vocals
Keith Carlock – Drums, Backing Vocals
Steve Lukather – Guitars, Bass, Backing Vocals, Lead Vocals # 4, 6, 8, 11
Steve Porcaro – Synths, Keyboards, Backing Vocals, Lead Vocals # 7

01. Running Out Of Time (4:06)
02. Burn (4:56)
03. Holy War (5:24)
04. 21st Century Blues (6:08)
05. Orphan (3:55)
06. Unknown Soldier (For Jeffrey) (5:06)
07. The Little Things (4:34)
08. Chinatown (5:07)
09. All The Tears That Shine (5:09)
10. Fortune (4:46)
11. Great Expectations (6:48)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: