Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Tom DeLuca – Down The Wire [1986]

TOM DE LUCA started his career basically as songwriter, established in Nashville at the end of the Seventies. He co-wrote the Jennifer Rush hit ‘Heart Over Mind’, songs for Aldo Nova, Joe Perry of Aerosmith and most of the tracks in Molly Hatchet’s 1984 album ‘Deed Is Done’. This successful work with the Hatchet attracted Epic / CBS Records to sign Tom as solo artist, and send him to England to record his debut with James Guthrie (Pink Floyd, Judas Priest).

After a year and a half of hard work, “Down To The Wire” was ready to be out at the beginning of 1986. Unfortunately, the same week of the release there was an unexpected executive staff change at Epic, and the new crew decided to not promote De Luca’s album. Few cassette and vinyl LP copies (already pressed) reached selected stores, and the album become a collectors item instantly.

Much sought after for years, fans had to wait more than twenty years to see “Down To The Wire” released for the first time on CD. This album is a lovable slab of Midwest American AOR / Melodic Rock with a sharp guitar sound and catchy choruses akin John Waite, Stan Bush, Kane Roberts early solo works, Aldo Nova, Jeff Paris and Steve Plunkett’s projects – check the Autograph-like (minus the bombast) “Chasing Shadows”.

Finally available with a superb sound, this “Down To The Wire” reissue includes three bonus tracks, two of them co-penned with the mighty Mike Slamer (Steelhouse Lane, Seventh Key) composed in the late ’80s and much more Melodic Rock oriented. A must have for any ’80s American AOR / Melodic Rock fan.

Band Members
Danny Schogger – Keyboards
Derek O’Neil – Guitar
Gary Barnacle – Saxophone
Jamie Lane – Drums
Martin Ditcham – Percussion
Mickey Feat – Bass, Backing Vocals
Taylor K. Rhodes – Keyboards, Backing Vocals
Tom DeLuca – Lead/Backing Vocals, Guitar, Harmonica

01. 57 Chevy
02. Runaway Hearts
03. Chasing Shadows
04. Dirty Fingers
05. Fire In The Night
06. Down To The Wire
07. Going The Distance
08. Stone In Your Heart
09. Betrayed
10. Reunion
11. Don’t Need Your Kind Of Love [2010 Bonus Track]
12. Can’t Stop Love Can’t Stop Money [2010 Bonus Track]
13. Love Train [2010 Bonus Track]

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: