Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Tokyo Motor Fist – Lions [2020]

American melodic hard rock band Tokyo Motor Fist have returned with their second, brand new album titled “Lions”, a follow up to their 2017 self-titled debut. Despite this being their second release, the band is put together by mature rockers therefore emphasis is placed on the compositions and performances and to a lesser extent on image and style.

The band consists of Danger Danger singer Ted Poley and Trixter’s guitarist/producer Steve Brown together with bassist Greg Smith (Ted Nugent, Rainbow, Alice Cooper) and drummer Chuck Burgi (Rainbow, Blue Oyster Cult, Joe Lynn Turner). As before the band puts forward their brand of 80s influenced melodic hard rock with flamboyant guitar licks, impeccable lead vocals moving effortlessly from AOR to melodic hard rock while the rhythm section is mostly supportive of the vocals and guitars.

I would say that the album’s greatest advantage as a melodic hard rock release, is its emphasis on both groove and melody, while the stylish, vocal performance does not prevent the songs from including large and memorable choruses. Upfront ripping guitars, thumping bass, solid drum beat and limited use of keyboards (the guitars do most of the talking here!).

On a personal level, it took only one song to be totally impressed by their new album. That was “Monster in Me” a dramatic and honest mega AOR track with such an engaging lyrical theme. And as expected that was not the only standout track on the album, in fact “Youngblood”, “Around Midnight”, “Winner Takes All” plus the title track, are all magnificent melodic hard rockers. Beefy and energetic, “Tokyo Motor Fist” is sure to please not only Ted Poley, Danger Danger, and Trixter’s fans, but all fans of Def Leppard, Bon Jovi and Cheap Trick and melodic hard rock in general. Don’t miss this superb release!

Band Members
Ted Poley – Vocals
Steve Brown – Guitar,vocals,keyboards
Chuck Burgi – Drums
Greg Smith – Bass,backing vocals

01. Youngblood
02. Monster In Me
03. Around Midnight
04. Mean It
05. Lions
06. Decadence On 10Th Street
07. Dream Your Heart Out
08. Blow Your Mind
09. Sedona
10. Look Into Me
11. Winner Takes All

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: