Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Toby Hitchcock – Mercury’s Down [2011]

Toby Hitchcock has finally released his solo debut and it is a very strong melodic rock album showcasing his powerful vocal range. After contributing vocals to three albums from Pride Of Lions and making his stamp on the melodic rock world it was definitely time to hear a solo record from one of the strongest new voices in this genre.

Mercury’s Down is backed up by Frontiers Records so you know you’re going to get a big rock record with very good production and the bonus here is that Erik Martensson from Eclipse and W.E.T. handles all the music. The album is similar to previous offerings from Frontiers but the emotional vocal delivery from Toby is reason to buy this particular record. Highlights include the moody build up of “Let Go”, the massive ballad “One Day I’ll Stop Loving You”, and the strong chorus of “A Different Drum”.

Despite the fact that Mercury’s Down doesn’t quite hit the heights of some of the other very strong melodic rock releases this year, it still represents one of the essential albums to check out. Mercury’s Down is highly recommended to anyone that enjoyed any of the three Pride Of Lions albums and anyone that likes what Erik Martensson has done recently including the absolutely classic W.E.T. album featuring Jeff Scott Soto on vocals.

Band Members
Erik Martensson All Instruments
Toby Hitchcock Lead Vocals

01. Strong Enough
02. This Is The Moment
03. How To Stop
04. Let Go
05. One Day I’ll Stop Loving You
06. I Should Have Said
07. If It’s To Be
08. Just Say Goodbye
09. Summer Nights In Cabo
10. Tear Down The Baricades
11. A Different Drum
12. Mercury’s Down

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: