Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Jeff Scott Soto – Damage Control [2012]


“Damage Control” is the brand new fourth studio album by renowned AOR singer Jeff Scott Soto; this review will be focusing on the characteristics of the limited/digipack edition of the album.

“Damage Control” is indeed a melodic hard rock album as they used to be made when significant budget was available. A max of 14 songs plus three promo videos complete Jeff’s latest melodic rock offering. The singer has claimed that “Damage Control” is, in a sense, a collective of the majority the melodic styles he has experienced in his 30-year career. The opening track “Give a little more” and the title track that follows make direct reference to his band “Talisman” due to the distorted bass lines, down-tuned guitars and inventive choruses. Then comes “Look inside your heart” (the first promo video) is in line with his earlier solo singles like “Eyes of love”.

From there onwards “Damage Control” draws towards adult oriented rock, recovering the standard tuning and more conventional `80s rhythm section. “Die a Little” is easily one of the most radio-friendly moments on the album being also major melodic. “If I never let her go” and “Tears that I cry” are more of the same great melodic rock that you would expect from JSS solo album, while “Take you Down” and “Krazy World” are another attempt at that groovy-rock side of Jeff’s.

As far as the DVD goes, you get a 15-minute video of Jeff himself talking you through the process of recording “Damage Control” as well as uncovering the cirucmstances under which the songs and guest collaborations came to be. On top of that you get the three promo videos; “Look inside your heart” is the all-original video clip starring Jeff and “Night Ranger” guitarist Joe Hoekstra while Damage Control is put together by studio out-takes. Finally the ballady “Neverending War” is built out of war-footage mixed with Jeff singing outdoors.

Overall Damage Control is by far the most diverse and complete work of Jeff’s to date, a case where the Limited edition of a release offers additional value to the product.

Band Members
Jeff Scott Soto – Vocals,Keyboards,Bass,Guitar
Mike Vanderhule – Drums
Dave Meniketti – Guitar
Robin Zander – Vocals
Joel Hoesktra – Guitars
Casey Grillo – Drums
Jamie Borger – Drums
Nalle Påhlsson – Bass

01. Give A Little More (4:40)
02. Damage Control (4:20)
03. Look Inside Your Heart (4:53)
04. Die A Little (3:54)
05. Take U Down (Deluxe Edition Bonustrack) (5:05)
06. If I Never Let Her Go (3:52)
07. Tears That I Cry (4:18)
08. Bonafide (4:11)
09. Elena (Deluxe Edition Bonustrack) (4:04)
10. Krazy World (4:33)
11. How To Love Again (3:56)
12. Afterworld (4:00)
13. Neverending War (5:03)

Nikiforos V. Skoumas

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.3/10 (3 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Jeff Scott Soto - Damage Control [2012], 8.3 out of 10 based on 3 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: