Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Silver Mountain – Roses & Champagne [1988]

Re-issued by “Metal Mind Productions” in 2009 is the third studio album by Swedish melodic/neoclassical hard rock band “Silver Mountain”, originally released in 1988. “Silver Mountain” could be considered as pioneers of the Swedish hard rock/metal scene having debuted in the early 80s and have featured such talents as Jens Johannson and Anders Johansson (Both ex-YJM “Rising Force”) and at some point during their earlier steps Malmsteen himself is said to have briefly joined the ranks.

Though mostly remebered for neoclassical metal, “Roses and Champagne”, their final studio offering was fairly in synch with the time it was released-late `80s. So you can expect a more polished production, a more refined rhythm section, emphasis on melodic guitar lines (plus some very effective guitar riffs) all complemented by a fair amount of keyboard harmonies, reinforcing the melodic rock aspects of the album. The line up features lead singer Johan Dahlstrom, guitarist Jonas Hansson, bassist Per Stadin, drummer Kjell Gustavsson and keyboardist Erik Bjorn Nielsen.

Though at times one might get the impression that “Siver Mountain” are struggling a bit to induce the trades of neoclassical metal into their melodic hard rock, the end result is fairly interesting with a good amount of standout songs like the opener “Romeo & Juliet”, “Light the light” and “Paradise Smile”. No question, there is also a fair amount of nostalgia that will be triggered once you play this one, regardless of whether you have heard “Roses and Champagne” in the past, it really bring that late-80s glamorous-melodic vibe to life. If you are a fan of late-80s melodic hard rock with a neoclassical touch, you will make the most of “Silver Mountair-Roses & Champagne”.

Band Members
Erik Björn Nielsen РKeyboards, Backing Vocals
Johan Dahlstrom – Lead & Backing Vocals
Jonas Hansson – Guitars, Backing Vocals, Lead Vocals # 3, 8
Kjell Gustavsson – Drums, Cymbals
Per Stadin – Bass, Backing Vocals

01. Romeo & Juliet
02. Light The Light
03. Where Are You
04. Forest Of Cries
05. Coming Home
06. Paris
07. Paradise Smile
08. Not You Baby
09. Down Town Junkie
10. Springtime [Bonus Track]
11. Romeo & Juliet [Bonus Video]

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: