Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Pretty Boy Floyd – Leather Boyz With Electric Toyz [1989]

Total glam to the max! Pretty Boy Floyd were trying to extend the glam metal legacy that was passed from Hanoi Rocks to Motley Crue to Poison. You can hear the influence of all three bands on Leather Boyz With Electric Toyz. Whether this record is the product of Pretty Boy Floyd’s reverence to past masters or a shameless rip-off is up for debate. The optimist in me hopes for the former.

Obviously, to enjoy Leather Boyz With Electric Toyz, you’ll have to view glam metal as a bona fide genre worthy of consideration. I do, and I do. It’s all about the bubble-gum bop of the melodies crashing against over-driven guitars. It’s candy sweetness and degenerate sleaze all at once. Songs glide like lipstick over the pouty gobs of our fair boyz. Not quite as good as its forefathers, but a solid entry into the glam metal Olympiad. This album is heavier than it looks — though it looks gayer than Liberace’s cape closet. Pretty Boy Floyd’s cover of the early Motley Crue highball Toast Of The Town is the standout of the record.

Leather Boyz With Electric Toyz comes not without its share of controversy. Turns out that most of the songs where written by ex-member Aeriel Stiles — who was not given any credit in the album’s liner notes. Here’s the scoop.

Leather Boyz With Electric Toyz actually made it on to Rolling Stone‘s “50 Greatest Hair Metal Albums Of All Time“. Not that Rolling Stone has any credibility whatsoever — it’s a pinko commie rag and it totally sucks. However their “50 Greatest Hair Metal Albums Of All Time” list ain’t half-bad at all. They even have Lord Tracy’s Deaf Gods Of Babylon on there! I thought I was the only person who had ever heard that album!

Band Members
Kari Kane – Drums
Kristy Majors – Guitar
Steve Summers – Vocals
Vinnie Chas – Bass

01. Leather Boyz With Electric Toyz (4:48)
02. Rock & Roll (Is Gonna Set The Night On Fire) (3:13)
03. Wild Angels (5:08)
04. 48 Hours (2:59)
05. Toast Of The Town (3:18)
06. Rock And Roll Outlaws (2:33)
07. Only The Young (3:51)
08. The Last Kiss (2:49)
09. Your Mama Won’t Know (3:42)
10. I Wanna Be With You (3:57)
11. Sucker [Bonus Track] (2:54)
11. Slam Dunk [1997 & 2003 Bonus Track]
11. Department Of Youth [2006 Bonus Track]
12. She’s My Baby [2003 Bonus Track]
13. Two Hearts [2003 Bonus Track]
14. Over The Edge [2003 Bonus Track]
15. I Just Wanna Have Something To Do [2003 Bonus Track]

Jeff from “Play it Loud”

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.0/10 (3 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Pretty Boy Floyd - Leather Boyz With Electric Toyz [1989], 9.0 out of 10 based on 3 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: