Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email: [email protected]

Midnite City – Midnite City [2017]

“Midnite City” is the self-titled debut album by English melodic hard rock group Midnite City. The band is the brain child of current Tigertailz front-man (and former Vega, Steevi Jaimz and Teenage Casket Company member and songwriter) Rob Wylde. Wylde approached friend Pete Newdeck (Newman/ Eden’s Curse, Blood Red Saints) to produce three songs forhim to shop to record labels. Wylde sang, played guitar and bass on the recordings whilst Newdeck played drums, provided backing vocals and took care of the production. Wylde also brought in newcomer guitarist Miles Meakin who played guitar solos on the recordings and former band mate James Martin (Vega) who laid down keyboards on the tracks. After being mixed by Newdeck, the songs were sent to Harry Hess (Harem Scarem) who mastered them at his studio in Canada.

Having played the album a good number of times, I am still surprised by the quality of the compositions as every riff, every melody and every chorus counts, amounting to a memorable album baring a musical identity of its own. Any way you look at it “Midnite City” is melodic hard rock without compromise. The leading instrument -aside of the vocals- is the guitar which brings to front thick-yet harmonious-riffs, incredible melodic lines and blistering solos effectively stealing the show on most songs on the record.

It is hard to pick favorites out of the “Midnite City” yet “We Belong”, “Ghosts of my Old Friends”, “One Step Away” and the beautiful ballad “Everything You Meant to Me” are best examples of the quality of this great album. If you support bands of the melodic genres such as “Winger”, “H.E.A.T”, “Crazy Lixx”, “Vega” and “White Widdow” you will definitely make the most of “Midnite City”.

Band Members
Rob Wylde – Vocals, guitar
Josh Tabbie Williams – Bass, backing vocals
Miles Meakin lead – Guitar, backing vocals
Pete Newdeck – Drums, backing vocals
Shawn Charvette – Keyboards, backing vocals
James Martin – Keyboards

01. We Belong
02. Ghost Of My Old Friends
03. Summer Of Our Lives
04. Nothing’s Like Losing You
05. Last Beat Of My Heart
06. Everything You Meant To Me
07. Can’t Wait For The Nights
08. One Step Away
09. I Just Can’t Take It
10. Things She Said
11. Think About You

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.6/10 (5 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Midnite City - Midnite City [2017], 9.6 out of 10 based on 5 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: