Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Merlin – Alles Nur Geträumt [1989]

grty4rt5“Alles Nur Geträumt” is the debut album from this German band released back in 1989 through Dino Music and produced by Hayo Well and Peter W. Kevin, contains 12 tracks full of perfect AOR blend with some poppy elements having huge keyboards and super catchy songs.

The pomp-AORish opener “Alles Nur Geträumt” sounds like the full blown Freiheit track “Every Time” while “Tanzen” reminds very much of Freiheit ‘s “Romancing in the Dark” with swirling keys, mixed with rocking guitars and huge choruses. The next song Lass Mich Allein” is a classic heartfelt AOR ballad close to FM‘s “Frozen Heart” in 1986 or also to Jojo’s “So Long”.This song will let you cry!

And it goes on in the same way! The super cool AOR hymn “Einmal” is in the vain of Baghdad’s “Nothing Lasts Forever”, while the ultra cool and catchy uptempo Westcoast / AORish “Ist Es Denn Ein Wunder” comes up with huge keyboards that reminds very much of Fingerprints!

My personal highlight at this rare album is the local hit “Fräulein Wunderbar” with cool keyboard effects, a great guitar solo and an absolutely fantastic chorus – It’s an outstanding feel good AOR song in the style of Rio’s “Tommy Can’t Help it”. The sentimental ballad “Werd’ Dich Sehr Vermissen” sounds pretty close to Boulevard “You and I” at their cool debut album in 1988. And these are only some songs, but believe me, every song is a winner J. Andreas Kröner’s (Merlin’s  Lead Vocalist’s) voice sounds pretty much like a mix of Freiheir singer Stefan Zauner and Rio’s singer Jo Neill.

If you are interested, you can take a look to a pretty cool German TV show performance and LIVE act of “Fräulein Wunderbar” or “Alles nur geträumt” at youtube, to get an impression of Merlin’s great style! The arrangements are pure 80’s! You’ll get great keyboards all over, rocking guitars as well, big backing vocals and a perfect produced sound! A great piece of German AOR  especially if you like bands like Baghdad, Rio, FM, Freiheit, Jojo, Fingerprints and Boulevard.

Band Members
Claudius Henkel – Bass
Oliver Schöll – Drums
Heinz Michael Melz,Michael Oscheja – Guitars
Johannes Mühleisen – Keyboards
Andreas Kröner – Vocals

Additional Musicians
Peter W. Kevin – Guitars,keyboards
Eckehard Rössle – Saxophone

01. Alles Nur Geträumt
02. Tanzen
03. Lass Mich Allein
04. Ebbe Und Flut
05. Einmal
06. Ich Will
07. Fräulein Wunderbar
08. Ist Es Denn Ein Wunder
09. Werd’ Dich Sehr Vermissen
10. L’Arrivée
11. 1000 Meilen
12. Vorbei


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: