Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Max Navarro – Hard Times [2012]

Vancouver born rocker Max Navarro, which later relocated in Italy started his career as a vocalist of the rock band Ax cover songs of Bryan Adams, but he took a solo career in 2002 with the helping hand of guitarist and producer Nick Mayer. “Hard Times” is his third full length album, inspired by the challenges we face and, according to the press kit, is a pure condensed rock’n roll.

A forty minutes of well performed and entirely smooth melodic rock, brings you memories from an era where artists like Rick Springfield, Bryan Adams, Dire Straits and Glen Burtnick, dominated on stages but now days they are mostly forgotten. The album is a true gem for the lovers of melodic rock with some fine rock tunes, lots of acoustic guitars and vocal melodies, but the most impressive is the song-writing of Max Navarro that continues to amaze us.

The energy of the opening song “You Can Rely On” makes you feels that you are some decades back, with a great rhythm and powerful riff, sets the tone for the rest of the album, followed by the up tempo “Out of Bounds”, opens with a rising lead guitar line before the track takes full form, featuring Steve Palmano on guitar and the soft emotional ballad “The Wrong Side”. One of the album’s highlight and the first single of the album is the brilliant power ballad “Cryin’’ with strong harmony line and catchy tune before the powerful chorus boosted you. “Nothing’s Guaranteed” kicks off in the greatest possible way, with its “intoxicating scent”, addictive to where it gets, with a frenetic harmony rhythm line, great riff and a vibrant tone before the catchy chorus will definitely stuck in your mind for a long time and helps the track to stand out, as for “Winter In Chicago” the words are useless. A mid tempo rockin’ tune with a wonderful chorus that you will love for the soulful lyrics of Navarro. “Beyond The Silence” it’s an up beat tune, while “Poison Girl” it’s a powerful and catchy song and definitely you should check it out. “End Of Universe” closing the record with many changing on the rhythm and melodies on the best way to make you wanting more.

Max Navarro’s third album is a must have. It’s a music masterpiece that goes beyond the “good tracks” thing, since each song is at its top, not only “Hard Times” includes songs that are one better than the other, but it established itself in the best possible way, thanks to the great value of its composition.

Band Members
Max Navarro – Vocals
John Paul Bellucci – Lead Guitars
Nick Mayer – Guitars
Jack Novell – Bass
Simone Morettin – Drums

01. You Can Rely On
02. Out Of Bounds
03. The Wrong Side
04. Nothing’s Guaranteed
05. Cryin’
06. Winter in Chicago
07. Beyond The Silence
08. Poison Girl
09. End Of Universe









VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Max Navarro - Hard Times [2012], 9.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: