Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email: [email protected]

Giant – Promise Land [2010]

Finally, new album from American melodic rock band `Giant’. `Promise land’ is their fourth studio album, marking the second reformation of the band (original reformation came in 2001 with `III’ album).
Regarding this comeback, it should come as no surprise that original key player Alan Pasqua did not enter this effort (as in the 2001 reunion) however the `Giant’ of 2009 also bares the absence of classic frontman-singer-guitarist Dann Huff. So how does one replace a band’s focal point? By bringing in two of the most accomplished musicians the genre has to offer; these are singer Terry Brock (amongst the greatest AOR voices as most are aware) and lead guitarist John Roth of “Winger”. The two join original members drummer David Huff and bassist Mike Brignadello.

`Promised land’ kicks off as a top AOR/melodic rock album while after the first four songs the band moves into a slightly heavier sound with riffs very reminiscent to the classic `Giant’ sound of the late 80s. The new members are actually taking a leading role- performance wise. Brock handles every kind of vocal line, proven particularly effective on songs that begin on a slow rhythm and build momentum during the chorus (best example being the title track). John Roth, on the other hand, throws in arguably some of his most flamboyant-ever performances with shredding solos on most of the tracks. Favorite songs include: the dynamic `Two words collide’, `Never surrender’, `Promise land’ and `Believer’

I suppose the best way for one to approach the album is without any reserves, concentrating primarily on the compositions and the performances and in all probability you will be rewarded. Regardless of its heritage, `Promise land’ is a class-A AOR/melodic rock album that stands on its own, therefore will probably satisfy (musically) `Giant’ hardcore fans as well as admires of the melodic sound in general.

Band Members
David L. Huff – Drums
John Roth – Guitars, Backing Vocals
Mike Brignardello – Bass
Terry Brock – Lead & Backing Vocals

01. Believer (Redux) (4:34)
02. Promise Land (5:38)
03. Never Surrender (4:43)
04. Our Love (4:15)
05. Prisoner Of Love (4:18)
06. Two Worlds (4:35)
07. Plenty Of Love (4:40)
08. Through My Eyes (4:05)
09. I’ll Wait For You (4:42)
10. Dying To See You (3:56)
11. Double Trouble (4:27)
12. Complicated Man [Bonus Track] (3:12)
13. Save Me (3:43)
13. Our Love (Acoustic Version) [Japan Bonus Track]

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: