Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

FM – Atomic Generation [2018]

“Atomic Generation” is the brand new, overall eleventh studio album by leading British AOR/melodic rock band FM that will be released in 30 March 2018 from Frontiers Records. Considered by enthusiast as the pioneer UK group of 80s melodic rock, FM was solidly based on the song writing and production of American AOR. The album line-up features lead singer/guitarist Steve Overland, guitarist Merv Goldsworthy, drummer Pete Jupp, key player Jem Davis and Jim Kirkpatrick held the drum duties.

In retrospect “Atomic Generation” proved a huge leap ahead for the band artistically. Not so much in terms of songwriting (as FM offered first class AOR from day one) but in terms of arrangements. Musically the new album is positioned right in the middle between melodic rock and a lighter sounding AOR combining the intensity of the former (guitars and vocals) with the subtlety of the latter (keyboards and rhythm section).

The album demonstrated over the top production featuring gigantic drumming, up front guitars, ever-present keyboards and mega-harmonic vocals. For that matter, while “Atomic Generation” has many strengths, if one was to point out it greatest achievement then that would definitely be the vocal layers, the blending of lead singing with backing harmonic vocals during the choruses is superb- making songs like “Black Magic”, “Too Much of a Good Thing”, “Follow your Heart” and “Stronger” a real joy for any melodic rock/AOR fan.

While being a relevant and authentic sounding FM album, “Atomic Generation” lacks that one standout power-rocker you hear in their previous albums feature, one also expected a slightly harder edge to the album with more up tempo rockers as “Atomic Generation” features equal amounts of standard tempo tunes and ballads.

FM have managed to come up with an album full of substance that is definitely not your average AOR while effectively demonstrating all the characteristics of the genre. The more one listens to the album the more one realizes how much he missed this incarnation of the band.

Band Members
Steve Overland – Vocals,guitars
Merv Goldsworthy – Bass
Pete Jupp – Drums
Jem Davis – Keyboards
Jim Kirkpatrick – Guitars

Additional Musicians
Scott Ralph – Horns
Chris Cliff – Cello

01. Black Magic
02. Too Much Of A Good Thing
03. Killed By Love
04. In It For The Money
05. Golden Days
06. Playing Tricks On Me
07. Make The Best Of What You Got
08. Follow Your Heart
09. Do You Love Me Enough
10. Stronger
11. Love Is The Law

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.0/10 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
FM - Atomic Generation [2018], 9.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: