Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Daylight Robbery – Cross Your Heart… [2011]


After a long period since the early nineties, the debut album of the UK rockers Daylight Robbery, released by their own label “Solar Flare”, it’s ready to fill your soul and leave you the quality of Melodic Hard Rock run through your veins!

Hailing from Birmingham, reborn a couple of years ago by respected Birmingham rock musicians Tony Nicholl (guitar/vocals) and Mark Carleton (guitar). They completed their line-up with Colin Murdoch on bass, Duncan Cook on keys and drummer Ben Dixon, offering us a powerful album including some songs written 20 years ago, as well as new material, and secured themselves the crown of “The New kings of Heavy Melodic Rock”.

Starting from the opening track “Cross Your Heart”, the music is easy to “breath”. It’s like oxygen filling my lungs with all I need to feel, with music flowing within me, from the vocals to the instrumental part. Heavy guitar riffs, rich bass line overlaid by melodious keyboards and a monster chorus lead to a superb track! The band continues in high standards with “Shame on You”, a song that rocks with incredible chorus and mellow notes. It rises and steals your attention from the very first note that drops in the air that you breathe. “The Perfect Storm” comes furious and nasty, unleashing its notes like steel needles that aim for your mood. “While You Were sleeping” is a pure rocking song showing the song-writing potential of the band with a catchy rhythm and a powerful chorus. “Crossing the Great Divide” is an eight minutes power ballad starting with piano and soaring vocals before exploding into a powerful solo, probably the best of the record, while the vocal performance of Nicholl is simply outstanding.

“R E U N I T E” is a mid-tempo rocking tune with crunchy guitar riffs, a contagious chorus mixed with the incredible performance by Nicholl. The rocking “Real Love Is the Answer” has a modern approach of hard rock with a catchy chorus and harmonious vocals followed by the up-tempo “Shes’ Got Me Understood”, a song with rough guitars and vocals backed by an old fashioned keyboards overall. The next song “1.000 Points of Light” is the only weak moment of the record: not because is bad, but because it doesn’t fit in with the rest of the songs. The song moves to more hard ‘n’ heavy paths with strong and fast guitars but without the harmony of the previous songs. “In the Line of Fire” is the song that closes the album and one of my favorite here, that fits perfectly within the band’s style. A track that lifts your spirit sky high, makes your adrenaline rise and makes the blood in your veins pump! A really punchy and effective sweaty rock with solid riffage and a powerful chorus that will get stuck in your head for a long time.

To listen to this album only requires passion for neat music, these ten tracks will show you the way and escort you to the core of Melodic Hard Rock. The song-writing is solid, urgent, played with energy and a catchiness taking up a place in your memory right from the start. This album worth paying attention to… Turn up the volume and enjoy!!!.

Band Members
Tony Nicholl – Vocals and guitar
Mark Carleton – Guitar and backing vocals
Colin Murdoch – Bass and backing vocals
Ben Dixon – Drums
Duncan Cook – Keyboards

01. Cross Your Heart
02. Shame On You
03. The Perfect Storm
04. While You Were Sleeping
05. Crossing The Great Divide
06. Real Love Is The Answer
07. Reunite
08. She’s Got Me Understood
09. 1,000 Points Of Light
10. In The Line Of Fire


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 7.0/10 (4 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +4 (from 4 votes)
Daylight Robbery - Cross Your Heart... [2011], 7.0 out of 10 based on 4 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: