Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email: [email protected]

Creye – Creye [2018]

This is the debut album by Swedish band Creye the brain child of guitarist and songwriter Andreas Gullstrand with the intent of playing classic pop/rock/retro AOR. Creye caused quite a stir in melodic rock/AOR circles in 2016 released the debut single “Never Too Late”. What characterizes Creye as musical personalities is vision. The musicians aim at recreating the old school AOR feeling of the early-mid 80s and that is exactly what they delivered. From the songwriting to the production, Creye gives new meaning to the term “old-school” recapturing only the best elements that AOR had to offer in the 80s.

Their self-titled album is incredibly catchy and uplifting AOR/melodic rock with the most positive choruses that one could come across in 2018, with the majority of songs being down tempo and keyboard driven, though featuring some exceptional guitar melodies and solos. The band wastes no time at all, convincing from the opening bang of “Holding On” that Creye mean serious business with their brand of arena-AOR. Extra large choruses, melodic keyboard-guitar mayhem and totally 80s-rhythm section is the recipe that makes this debut a highlight of the contemporary AOR genre.

Baring in mind that “Creye” is vintage-AOR, the album is considerably guitar oriented, blending perfectly with keyboard presence throughout the thirteen songs on this debut. And what songs; I could not escape but share that “Never Too Late” is one of the most infectious songs I have heard in the last years. From there on it is amazing AOR track after track, “Nothing to Lose”, “Miracle”, “Straight to the Top” and “City Lights” all first class adult rockers.

The album also benefits from a rather thick production that does not undermine the AOR quality of Creye while effectively bringing to front the guitar attack and the harmonious keyboards which makes the end result all the more exciting. For any fan of AOR and melodic rock genre Creye should be a priority, and a perfect addition into your collection.

Band Members
Robin Jidhed – Lead Vocals
Andreas Gullstrand – Lead Guitar
Fredrik Joakimsson – Rhythm Guitar
Gustaf Örsta – Bass
Joel Rönning – Keyboards
Arvid Filipsson – Drums

01. Holding On
02. Nothing To Lose
03. Different State Of Mind
04. Never Too Late
05. All We Need Is Faith
06. Miracle
07. Christina
08. Straight To The Top
09. Love Will Never Die
10. Still Believe In You
11. City Lights
12. Desperately Lovin’
13. A Better Way

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: