Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:

Amy Sky – A Breath Of Fresh Air [1989]

Amy Sky - A Breath Of Fresh AirCanadian singer AMY SKY is well known for her gold certified poppy country mid-nineties albums, but she has a background career in the US during the ’80s. She became a staff writer and back up singer for MCA, working in many successful recordings with stars like Jennifer Rush, Diana Ross or Heart.

In one of her L.A. sessions, Amy met AOR singer-songwriter Marc Jordan and soon get married.  Together started to negotiate Sky’s own recording as solo artist, and major labels as MCA or Capitol were attracted to Amy’s talent, but couldn’t figure out how to market her, and after Jordan’s denial to ‘sex up her image’, both companies dropped the deal. The recordings were shelved and Sky, frustrated, returned to Canada with her husband. Some years later she finally got the deserved recognition.

What we have here is Amy Sky’s ‘lost’ L.A. ’80s album; “A Breath Of Fresh Air”, and as you correctly supposed, it’s a poppy female AOR album featuring some truly outstanding musicians. No other than the amazing Tim Pierce and Steve Farris (Mr. Mister) handle guitars, Bob Glaub on bass, drummers Reggie Jackson & Steve Ferrone (Eric Clapton), and of course husband Marc Jordan who not only contributes keyboards, also duets in “A Better Place”. Olivia Newton-John (Amy contributed in many of her albums) perfoms backing vocals together with other unlisted artists.But all this crew is more than justified by Amy Sky’s talent as singer and songwriter, she is really good.

“A Breath Of Fresh Air” is a typically ’80s album both in production and sound, but more consistent than the average product of this era. Think Robin’s Beck debut with better songwriting. A real rarity, as far I know never released on any physical format.

Band Members
Amy Sky – Vocals
Tim Pierce – Guitars
Steve Farris – Guitars
Bob Glaub – Bass
Reggie Jackson – Drums
Steve Ferrone – Drums
Marc Jordan – Keyboards, Vocals
Olivia Newton-John – Backing Vocals

01. A Breath Of Fresh Air
02. Paint Another Picture
03. That Is What Faith Is For
04. For All The Right Reasons
05. One Day
06. Joined At The Heart
07. Until You Are Mine Again
08. This Is The Love
09. All Over The World
10. A Better Place

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: