Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email: [email protected]

Age of Reflection – In the Heat of the Night [2017]

“In The Heat of the Night” is the debut album by Swedish melodic hard rock/AOR group AGE of REFLECTION. AGE of REFLECTION is the brain child of guitarist Carl Berglund got together with old friend Jan Skärming (bass) – a bandmate from several previous bands – to write songs shaped at its very core by 80’s rock giants. These were songs with emotional harmonies from pure British AOR, with the power of American hard rock, sprinkled with hooks from the new era of Swedish melodic rock.

Equipped with tons of hard hitting melodic rock song written, there were a few pieces of the puzzle still missing, and after years of searching those pieces turned out to be Jonas Nordquist (lead guitar) and Lars Nygren (vocals). In August 2016, the band signed a deal with AOR Heaven for a February 2017 release, about that time they also added drummer Michael Sjöö (Seven Tears, ONEbyONE) to complete their band. The album is also produced by AGE of REFLECTION but the mixing and mastering is done by Erik Mårtensson, Blowout Productions (Eclipse, WET a.o).

Any way you look at it AGE of REFLECTION is melodic hard rock without compromise, the leading instrument -aside of the vocals- is the guitar which brings to front thick-yet harmonious-riffs, incredible melodic lines and blistering solos effectively stealing the show on most songs on “In The Heat of the Night”.

Songs like the opener “Borderline”, “Now and Forever” and “Blame It on My Heart” should be more than enough to convince any fan of the genre that AGE of REFLECTION are all about substance. Just about every song on “In The Heat of the Night” opens on a forceful guitar melody, building up to an unforgettable chorus and that’s all a fan can real ask of a release of this kind. Truth be told, the opening track, “Borderline” is an incredibly forceful statement in 2017 melodic rock which causes the rest of the track list to fall short in comparison.

The album also benefits from a rather thick production that does not undermine the AOR quality of AGE of REFLECTION while effectively bringing to front the guitar attack and the harmonious keyboards which makes the end result all the more exciting. Overall “In The Heat of the Night” should prove a great buy for anyone enjoying the heavier side of melodic rock and any fan of 80s hard rock overall.

Band Members
Carl Berglund – Guitar,backing vocals,keyboards
Jan Skärming – Bass,backing vocals
Lars Nygren – Vocals
Jonas Nordquist – Guitar
Michael Sjöö – Drums

01. Borderline
02. The mirror never lies
03. Every time
04. In the heat of the night
05. Always
06. Evelyn
07. Blame it on my heart
08. Now and forever
09. You are my light
10. Dying for your love
11. Every time (alternative version)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.2/10 (9 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +3 (from 3 votes)
Age of Reflection - In the Heat of the Night [2017], 9.2 out of 10 based on 9 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
Αρέσει σε %d bloggers: