Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:


Country Germany

Style Melodic Hard Rock


The band was founded in 1986 and initially consisted of Wolthoff Pepe (vocals), bemy Bitzer (guitar), Henry Sauter (keyboard), Dany Beiersdorfer (bass), Tommy Strobel (drums) and Andy Weber (saxophone). In 1990, the Swiss label Seven Music Pink became aware of the hard rock band. The debut Dangerous Games was recorded in Basel and then published in Switzerland.

After about 50 concerts at home and abroad brought Subway 1992 in Switzerland at Phonag Records released their second album, Hold on to Your Dreams, out. It was produced by Fernando Garcia (Victory). The album reached number 37 in the Swiss charts. Due to the success in Switzerland and concerts in Germany SUBWAY were able to secure a contract with the newly formed label GSE Records in Offenbach. Other publications in Germany, Austria, Japan, Korea and Taiwan followed. The band produced a video of the hit single Hear You Cry. This was followed by appearances at open airs (with Bob Geldof, Jeff Healey, Manfred Mann’s Earth Band), a Germany-tour with Axxis and a European tour with Talisman (Jeff Scott Soto) end of 1993. After the saxophonist Andy Weber left the band and was replaced by Boris Matakovic.

In 1994, the album Taste the Difference in Los Angeles / USA was taken. Producer was Mikey Davis, who already bands like KISS and WASP had produced. During the recording sessions from January to March in 1994 in Los Angeles, an earthquake measuring 6.8 on the Richter scale shook the city. Dozens of people died and thousands were left homeless. The members survived the earthquake unharmed, and dedicated the album to the victims of this natural disaster. In the fall of 1995, singer Peach Stöckli and drummer Tommy Strobel left the band.

After several years of absence from the German music market appeared in 1998, the album Subway in Switzerland at A & A Music. This was followed by publications in Germany during Ebola Record Label Records and Japan in 2000 under the title Do not look back. With the new singer Francis Soto and drummer Björn Hodler Subway saw a further publication. However, the sales figures did not meet the high expectations of the band.

Nevertheless, in 2002 a further 20 were pre-produced songs for a planned new album, which should never be released due to differences with the record company. As a result, Subway broke up in late 2003. Before that, however, in the spring of 2000, Subway had on their last tour in Germany with the rock bands Asia and Kansas on the road. In mid-September 2003, the band during a open air one last concert for their fans in Germany. In 2009, singer Francis Soto Subway decided to call again with a new line-up in life. Was released in 2010, the studio album Lola’s theme. It was followed by a tour of Germany with Michael Bormann.


– Dangerous Games [1990]
– Hold On To Your Dreams [1992]
– Taste The Difference [1994]
– Subway [1998]
– Lola’s Theme [2010]


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.2/10 (5 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)
SUBWAY, 9.2 out of 10 based on 5 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: