Mobile:+00-00000-00000 Email:


Style Sleaze Glam/Hard Rock

Country USA
PhotobucketFaster Pussycat is an American hard rock band from Los Angeles, California formed in 1986. The group was most successful during the late 1980s with their self-titled debut album, their 1989 gold album Wake Me When It’s Over and the 80,000 selling Whipped! in 1992. Faster Pussycat was formed in Hollywood by Taime Downe during the Glam metal boom of the 1980s, the earliest incarnation of the band featured Downe and Greg Steele along with Brent Muscat. The name of the band, “Faster Pussycat,” is derived from the Russ Meyer film Faster, Pussycat! Kill! Kill!. After several more member changes, Faster Pussycat soon morphed into the band’s most well known line-up, consisting of Taime Downe (vocals), Greg Steele (guitar), Brent Muscat (guitar), Kelly Nickels (bass) and Mark Michals (drums). Before recording their debut album, Nickels left the group and was replaced by Eric Stacy (ex-Champagne).

The band released their debut album Faster Pussycat in 1987. The band managed to build a cult following and put out two promotional videos from the first album for the songs “Bathroom Wall” and “Don’t Change That Song”. In November 1987 the band appeared on the cover of Screamer Magazine’s debut issue. Says David Castagno, the magazine’s Publisher/Editor and now host of RadioScreamer, “Faster Pussycat will always hold a special place in my heart.” In the United States the band toured with Alice Cooper, David Lee Roth, and Motörhead in support of the album. They also headlined the “Itch You Can’t Scratch Tour”, with opening act Reiss & Hard Liquor, with famed front man, singer Troy Reissmann.

Also in 1987, Faster Pussycat appeared in the Rockumentary film, The Decline of Western Civilization part 2 – The Metal Years. The band was interviewed at some length and performed live versions of “Cathouse” and “Bathroom Wall”.

Two years later, Faster Pussycat would record their most successful album Wake Me When It’s Over. The album received gold status; its sales being largely boosted by the hit single, “House of Pain”. Music videos were also produced for “House of Pain” and “Poison Ivy”. While the band were touring for the album in 1990, drummer Mark Michals was arrested in Omaha, Nebraska for trying to mail heroin to his hotel room and was subsequently kicked out of the band. Frankie Banali of Quiet Riot filled in as drummer for the remainder of the tour, then Brett Bradshaw became Faster Pussycat’s new long-term drummer. Tours with KISS and Mötley Crüe followed.

In 1990, they recorded a cover of Carly Simon’s “You’re So Vain” for a compilation called Rubáiyát: Elektra’s 40th Anniversary. A video was also filmed for this track. The song was also later included on the 1992 Belted, Buckled And Booted EP, which served as the single for “Nonstop To Nowhere” and also included two unreleased tracks.

In 1992 they released their third album, Whipped!, which peaked at #90 on the charts.

In 1993, Faster Pussycat broke up, and all members went their separate ways into various projects. Downe was involved with industrial musical act Pigface before expanding on the darker themes started on Whipped!, by forming his own industrial rock act with Kyle Kyle of Bang Tango called The Newlydeads.

In 2001 Faster Pussycat reformed featuring original members Downe (vocals), Muscat (guitar), Steele (guitar); alongside Downe’s former Newlydeads bandmates Xristian Simon (guitar), Danny Nordahl (bass), and Chad Stewart (drums). Danny Nordahl had also played in The Throbs, and Nordahl and Chad Stewart both also play in Motochrist.

A remix compilation Between the Valley of the Ultra Pussy was released the same year by the band, featuring industrial rock remixes of their classic tracks, along with a bonus cover of KISS’ “I Was Made For Loving You”. This divided fans as many of the band’s older fanbase who enjoyed standard hard rock, were not familiar with industrial rock.

Steele would leave the band half-way through the band’s 2001 headlining reunion tour.Tracii Guns filled in as guitarist for the rest of the tour, but once the remaining dates were completed, Faster Pussycat continued as a five piece. Eric Griffin from Murderdolls, Synical, and eventually Wednesday 13, filled in as the guitarist for their United States tour due to Brent Muscat’s scheduling conflicts.Muscat would return briefly until oral cancer sidelined him in late summer of 2005 and he was temporarily replaced by Michael Thomas which would end permanently when he chose not to return back to the lineup.
PhotobucketIn December 2006, three former original Faster Pussycat members; Brent Muscat, Eric Stacy and Brett Bradshaw alongside The Underground Rebels vocalist Kurt Frohlich began performing under the name Faster Pussycat, creating two versions of the band both claiming to be the ‘original’. Brent’s claimed purpose for this was to allow fans to hear Faster Pussycat tracks played in the way they originally recorded, as opposed to the Industrial rock-themed version he said Downe continued to front. Brent also made a legal claim to the name ‘Faster Pussycat’.

They played the AVN Awards after-party at the Dive Bar in Las Vegas, Nevada. According to a press release, this version of the band — which did not include Downe — will perform “all classic tracks, no remixes, no B.S.”

Downe sent out a bulletin on MySpace saying Faster Pussycat was not playing in Vegas and Brent’s version was a ‘tribute band’.Brent responded by stating that he donated all his money and planned to donate a portion of any future earnings to cancer research. In various interviews Downe disputed Brent’s version of events and indicated the issue was being dealt with via the courts.

On April 21, 2007, Muscat circulated via MySpace an open invitation to Downe and Steele to reunite with him, Stacy and Bradshaw. There was no response from Downe. Brent’s version of Faster Pussycat toured Europe in Spring 2007 with Kurt Frohlich replacing Downe on vocals along with Todd Kerns on guitar.

In July 2007, Brent Muscat decided to drop the battle to use the name Faster Pussycat.Brent Muscat has since started a band called Sin City Sinners. Brent has stated in an interview “Faster Pussycat is dead”.

Downe has continued on with the name ‘Faster Pussycat.’ and this band performed at Rocklahoma July 2007. During their set, Downe went on a tirade to the crowd referencing Muscat’s cancer, wishing he would die, which received a poor reception from both the crowd and journalists. He then cut their set short and left the stage without playing several of their biggest hits.

Faster Pussycat toured the U.S. in the summer of 2008 with Tracii Guns’ version of LA Guns. In the late spring of 2010 Ace Von Johson replaced Michael Thomas, who was devoting his full time work to Adler’s Appetite.

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

– Faster Pussycat [1987]
– Wake Me When It’s Over [1989]
– Whipped [1992]
– The Power & The Glory Hole [2006]
– Front Row For The Donkey Show [2009]

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.0/10 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
FASTER PUSSYCAT, 9.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
Powered by WordPress and MagTheme
%d bloggers like this: