Roxus/Roxas – The Paris Sessions & More [2010]

Country Australia

Style Hard Rock

Roxus Roxas The Paris Sessions and More

Aussie band ROXUS fronted by singer Juno Roxas was without a doubt one of the best Melodic Rock acts ever emerged from Down Under. They only released a full length album, an EP and some singles, but all these include some real gems in the genre.

In 2010 vocalist Juno Roxas announced a series of shows in Melbourne and other Australian cities performing the band’s classics and some songs written back in a day but never presented to the fans. So there’s no ‘new 2009-10 album’, but a bunch of great songs never heard / published before: “The Paris Sessions”. The title does not refer to the French city, these are demos recorded and produced under the supervision of AOR icon Jeff Paris tracked down in America at the beginning of the nineties, where Juno Roxas moved later to pursue a songwriter career.

Some of these tracks surfaced some time ago amongst collectors and fan websites, but I assure you not with this audio quality, besides we have here many songs never presented in the world wide web before. Take as example the great Melodic Rocker “Love Me, Do Me” with a really Americanized sound, which somehow reminds me Damn Yankees. Or the re-worked long version of “Body Heat” (a winner) with the ‘Jeff Paris treatment’. Another rarity is the original demo of the band’s biggest hit “Where Are You Now”, featuring Robin Randall (Mark Free, Venus & Mars) and Steve Hopkins (Mark Free) on keyboards, while James Christian (House Of Lords) and the superb Diana Dewitt (Venus & Mars) did backing vocals. This version is far superior than the finally appeared in Roxus’ album / single.

And we have more from the Paris Sessions: killer rocking, melodic unreleased tunes as “What You Don’t Know”, “Stop Playing With My Heart” or “Invisible Man”. To make it more juicy, I have included into the file more rarities; the hard to find original ’89 single version (Australia only) of “Stand Back”, the b-side “Borderline”, unreleased live versions of “Bad Boys” and “All Right Now” (Free cover) which I believe were recorded at MTV studios, and even a Juno Roxas’ performance from the 1987 movie ‘Mull’ (never released soundtrack).

Band Members
Joe Cool
Juno Roxas
Andy Shannahan
Alex Deegan

01. Love Me, Do Me (Jeff Paris session demo)
02. What You Don’t Know (Jeff Paris session demo)
03. Invisible Man (Jeff Paris session demo)
04. Body Heat [long version] (Jeff Paris session demo)
05. Stop Playing With My Heart (Jeff Paris session demo)
06. All The Way (Jeff Paris session demo)
07. Don’t Stop (Jeff Paris session demo)
08. Where Are You Now (original demo ft. J. Christian)
09. Borderline (Where Are You Now b-side)
10. Stand Back (Aussie original ’89 single version)
11. Spaghetti Wire (unknown session)
12. Body Heat (unknown session)
13. Bad Boys (Live – unreleased)
14. All Right Now (Live – unreleased)
15. Juno Roxas Hold On (from the 1987 movie Mull)

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0.0/10 (0 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: +1 (from 1 vote)