Michael O’brien – Michael O’brien [1990]

PhotobucketCountry USA         

Style AOR

Rating 83/100

Band Members Michael O’brien – Lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, Mike Komyati – Bass, Tony Lombardo – Lead guitar, Rick Hervey – Drums, Jeff Ross – Keyboards, guitar, backing vocals, Brian Keith – Keyboards, backing vocals

Tracks 01. Here We Go, 02. Matter of Time, 03. I’m Over You, 04. I Believe, 05. Hold Your Head Up (Cover: Argent), 06. Today Is the Day, 07. Wait for You, 08. Why, 09. I Know, 10. Everything to Me

Profile This is a near legendary release which has seen it’s value/worth increase over the passing years. Michael is a contender for best kept secret in theworld of melodic rock, but he is definitely one major AOR talent who can be classed in the same breath as Paul Sabu and Jeff Cannata. Not to be misunderstood, this is not the same Michael O’Brien who is a popular Christian artist on Benson Records. Different guys altogether. This Michael lives off the coast of Florida (coincidentially like his namesake who also lives in Florida) and has self produced this impressive effort which definitely got the AOR community a buzz upon it’s debut in 1990.

The opening pair of ‘Here We Go’ and ‘Matter Of Time’ are good enough efforts but things really take off when we kick in with the third track ‘I’m Over You’. This is prime cut AOR! This pulses in majestic fashion. ‘I Believe’ is symphonic rock in much the same vein as Arcangel. Great stuff. Classy as hell!!


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 9.0/10 (2 votes cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Michael O'brien - Michael O'brien [1990], 9.0 out of 10 based on 2 ratings
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: