Chalk Circle – Mending Wall [1987]

chalk circle-mending wallCountry Canada          Style Melodic Rock/Alternative Rock

Rating 81/100

Band Members
Chris Tait – Vocals,guitar, Brad Hopkins – Bass, Derrick Murphy – Drums, Tad Winklarz – Keyboards, Kenny MacLean – Backing vocals on “20th Century Boy” “This Mourning” “My Artificial Sweetner”, Jason Sniderman – keyboard programming, Don Garbutt – Computer programming on “20th Century Boy”, “My Artificial Sweetner” and “This Mourning”, Brian Leonard – Percussion

01. This Mourning, 02. My Artificial Sweetner, 03. What Counts, 04. N.I.M.B.Y., 05. 20th Century Boy, 06. Empty Park, 07. Hands, 08. Park Island, 09. Village, 10. Who Can Say

[ca_audio url=”″ width=”500″ height=”27″ css_class=”codeart-google-mp3-player” autoplay=”false”]

Profile Chalk Circle was a Canadian alternative rock band formed in 1982 in Newcastle. The band consisted of lead singer and guitarist Chris Tait, bassist Brad Hopkins, keyboardist Tad Winklarz and drummer Derrick Murphy. Mending Wall is the first full length album by Toronto-based band Chalk Circle. Named after a Robert Frost poem, it was released in 1987 by Duke Street Records. Many of the album’s songs dealt with issues that were big news makers of the day.

“This Mourning” dealt with nuclear annihilation, while “N.I.M.B.Y” (Not In My Back Yard) dealt with environmental issues. A quick reissue of the album featured as an additional track a cover of T-Rex’s “20th Century Boy”. This was also released as a single. The subsequent reissue of The Great Lake EP in 1988 also featured the track as one of the bonus cuts. This success allowed them to open shows for major touring acts including Rush and Crowded House.


VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 8.0/10 (1 vote cast)
VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 0 (from 0 votes)
Chalk Circle - Mending Wall [1987], 8.0 out of 10 based on 1 rating
You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: